Day 1

Right, Day 1.

The plan is I am going to give Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred a go. It claims that by following the 30 minute video every day for 30 days you will be able to transform your body – or “shred” it. You start with the level 1 video for the first 10 days, move in to level 2 for the second set of 10 days and the final 10 days see you at level 3. Obviously each level becomes increasingly harder making you work your body that little bit more. I have done a bit of research and it seems that those who have followed it have seen good results so it can’t hurt to give it a go. 

In the interest of science I am going to be thorough and have taken my measurements to show the progress I make.

Here we go world, be prepared for this, I am making myself accountable now!!

Measurements are:

  • Left Knee: 16.5 inches
  • Right Knee: 16.5 inches
  • Left Thigh: 24.5 inches
  • Right Thigh: 24.5 inches
  • Widest Part: 41.5 inches (the bit that tends to dictate my jeans size!)
  • Hips: 37.5 inches
  • Waist: 32 inches
  • Bust: 40 inches
  • Left Arm: 12.5 inches
  • Right Arm: 12.5 inches

Quite thorough I know but if its worth doing and all that. Right on to the photo evidence. These were taken this morning before doing day 1 of the workout:

Copyright and property of the author of The LB Diaries.

Some of you will be thinking “that’s not so bad” but to me it’s not great, especially as 18 months ago this bikini was rather flattering. I used to run quite a bit, 3-4 times a week, so my body shape has changed quite considerably since I had to give it up for a while. This 30 day shred will hopefully get me going again. My problem areas tend to be my hips and thighs so we will see what impact it has on these.

As for the workout itself, I have never felt so unfit in my life! If you are contemplating this workout I will not lie, it is tough if you are not used to the level of activity or moves it has in it. It is a combination of cardio and weight training, as Jillian believes this is the quickest way to burn fat and build muscle. It also have two levels to it, one for the beginners and one for those who are used to working out. I went for the beginners. 

Starting with a warm up and then into the “circuits” of which there are 3 at about 7 minutes each. You start with some strength work, move onto cardio and then do some abs. Its a nice combination I did enjoy it although I admit I winced my way through the final arm strength moves…ouch…and even had to give it a rest on some of it, my upper body strength has never been the best. As for the cardio, you would think as a runner I would be ok, let me tell you, having not run for a while the cardio really got me puffing, jumping jacks are not exactly my favourite move.

Needless to say it was finished before I knew it. For a workout to fit into a busy day this is exactly what you want, short at about 20 mins for the actual movement part of the video, and leaves you feeling like you did something. The test will be to do it all again tomorrow…and the day after, for the next 29 days!

If you are considering this I would say give it a go, it may feel tough at first but the sense of achievement after finishing is great. On to day 2!

3 comments

  1. DesyreeOlveraPotts · · Reply

    Good luck on your venture doll!!

  2. Best wishes on your fitness goals!

  3. Thank you both! Hopefully I can do myself proud :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

